Coffee in My Garden – Standing Up to Evil

Orchids in My Garden

Orchids in My Garden

When evil rears its hideous head as it has done so often of late, it’s easy and natural to get sucked into the web of hate it tries to weave. It’s easy to think that’s all there is, the world is going to hell in a handbasket and we all might as well just give up and die right now.

But if we do that, evil wins.

Evil loves nothing more than for us to cower in its presence, to bargain with it, to change everything about who we are and what we do in an attempt to appease it. Evil cannot be appeased. It grows in strength and power by making us weak and afraid, by making us more like it.

Evil hates it when we acknowledge its presence, look it square in the face and say “I see you. I know you. I will not let you defeat me. I will not let you change who I am except for the better.”

For every terrorist there are more who run into danger than away from it.

For every one who inflicts pain and suffering, there are more who heal.

May it always be so.

Today let us pray for those who have felt evil’s presence and lift them out of it every way we can.

Today let us also celebrate the good, the beautiful, the blessings in life.

When we do that, evil loses.

