Daily Prompt – Key Takeaway

“Give your newer sisters and brothers-in-WordPress one piece of advice based on your experiences blogging. If you’re a new blogger, what’s one question you’d like to ask other bloggers?” –

My advice would be: Don’t be surprised if you start writing regularly

I’m still new at this. I posted one post a year ago in response to all of my artist friends who had blogs and could not believe that their writer friend (me) did not. So I posted a post just so I could say “Fine. I did it.” And that was that for a year.

I started again at the urging of my daughter when we were catching up and reminiscing over lunch one day (see my post It Starts With a Thought). https://cynthiamcclendon.wordpress.com/2013/03/23/it-starts-with-a-thought/ I didn’t realize until I looked back that I picked it up on the monthly anniversary of my first post. And this time something clicked and now I’m a regular.

I used to be a columnist and wrote the occasional magazine article. I didn’t expect my old columnist self to show up but I’m glad. I had planned for this to be a once in a while whenever I felt like it thing. The rest of my life is full of schedules and deadlines and craziness. This was supposed to be my relaxing place. I didn’t expect to have a regular Coffee In My Garden column on Fridays or Sunday Morning Sing-Along on Sundays. It’s as though something in my brain switched on and said “Oh. We have a column again. OK.” And all the old writing on deadline habits kicked in.

My question is: Do you prefer short or long?

I have a hectic schedule and rarely have time to read long posts but occasionally I find myself writing them. Is this futile? Are there people who have time to read long posts?

I do read the tutorials, but I’m a hands-on learner and it’s been a case of “fiddle with it til I get something close to what I want then save it quick.” I’m getting better. Hopefully I’ll get better still.

Thank you to all who have stopped by my garden and followed me.

I’ve enjoyed meeting you and look forward to reading your posts.

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/05/07/daily-prompt-key-takeaway/

