Coffee in My Garden – Spidey Sense and Taking Time

Morning

My writing buddy

My writing buddy

When a spider spins a huge web in my garden space, I know I’ve been away too long.

I’ve been working more hours than usual this week. Last week we were busy celebrating my sister and her husband’s 50th wedding anniversary with family and friends so were there, not here as much. We’ve had our big quarterly meetings at work this week and I’m going on vacation next week (wahoo!) so have been busy making sure things run as smoothly as possible while I’m gone. I’m working later today and had told myself I would concentrate on all the things I haven’t been able to do in the house and would forgo coffee in my garden this morning.

That resolution lasted until sunup. The neglected bird feeder was askew and empty and my cardinals were chirping their friendly reminder that we have a standing Friday morning appointment. The squirrels were so happy to see me I was afraid they were going to run straight into the house to get the peanuts themselves if I had delayed one more second.

 

Peanuts, please!

Peanuts, please!

When I came home late the other night I noticed a spider had spun a huge web in my garden writing space (I tried to get a picture of the web, but it disappeared into the background). My first thought was “Get out.” But having identified it as non-poisonous (we called these Crown of Thorns spiders when I was growing up) and admiring its good taste in real estate, I decided to leave it alone.

And then I sat in my accustomed writing chair and got a face full of sticky web. Spidey had apparently used the window ledge as an anchor spot.

I apologized for inadvertently destroying a true piece of art (thankfully her food zone high in the rafters stayed intact) and suggested that if Spidey took the high latticework and left me the low my traffic patterns wouldn’t conflict with her chosen home and we could both enjoy my garden.

Spidey has made her new web hammock across the high beams as I’ve been typing this and doesn’t appear to have too many hard feelings (though she wasn’t overly fond of me taking that last picture).

Spidey rafters

Tinkerbell let me know I’ve been gone entirely too much and her cuddle tank needed to be refilled.

Very important appointment

Very important appointment
I had just barely noticed in passing that my plumbago is in glorious bloom. Today I’m stopping to appreciate it.
 
Plumbago in bloom
Plumbago in bloom
 
And as a special gift, my polka dot plant from last season (whose passing I had mourned when the season was over) has blessed me with a polka dot baby! Yay!
 
Pink Polka Dot Plant
Pink Polka Dot Plant
 As long as the electricity holds out, I can clean house at night. Mornings in my garden are a special gift, a blessing not to be denied. And by refilling my peace and beauty tank I can get through whatever chaos the rest of the week throws at me.
 
Shalom.
