Daily Prompt: Green-Eyed Monster

Xena

Xena

“Daily Prompt: Green-Eyed Monster
by michelle w. on May 23, 2013
Tell us about the last time you were really, truly jealous of someone. Did you act on it? Did it hurt your relationship?
Photographers, show us something GREEN.”

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/05/23/daily-prompt-green-eyed-monster/

I hadn’t planned to do this one. I make it my practice, in life but especially here, to focus on the good, the right, the beautiful. Life is full of ugliness, ranting, raving, the lesser emotions. Less full of the good, the true, the beautiful. My name, Cynthia, means “bringer of light” and I try to live up to my name. Also, it’s a beautiful morning and I don’t want to go inside just yet.

The cats took me aside today and let me know that they were jealous of my posting about the dogs, the birds, the squirrels, and they demanded some time and space of their own.

Xena (pictured above) is our survivor kitty. We rescued her tiny mother on a rainy Thanksgiving night years ago not knowing she was pregnant. We found homes for the kittens except for the two we fell in love with – Xena and her brother Leo – who both turned out to be huge. They were born on Nunsense opening night. Leo was named after Sister Mary Leo, my daughter’s character. I played Reverend Mother, but that didn’t seem like such a good name for a cat, so the kids settled on Xena as she was the warrior princess of the group. Dinah (the mom) and Leo passed on some years ago after good long lives. I don’t even want to think about how old Xena is. I just want to enjoy her. Not that she shows any sign of slowing down. Not that she was ever fast to begin with…which teaches me the value of relaxation.

Tigger is my Velcro kitty. He was rescued by my husband during set-up for a Citrus Bowl event. He literally climbed up my hubby’s pantleg and said “Wherever you’re going, I’m coming with you.” He was a tiny kitten, barely weaned but he already knew this was not the life he wanted. My husband is not really a cat person, so when he called and said “I know we already have cats, but I can’t leave him here. Let’s get some meat on him and find him a good home” I was surprised. According to the security guard, Tigger was part of a feral litter. The security guard was allergic to cats, but he fed them and socialized the kittens. The minute I picked Tigger up and he snuggled up and purred I said “This cat is not going anywhere. He’s mine.” It’s difficult to get a good picture of Tigger. He’s always on my feet, beside me, or in my lap. He especially loves hammock time.

Tigger

Tigger

Smokey climbed up our Marine’s pant leg as he was running in a nearby park during a rain storm (it wasn’t storming when he started out, but storms come quickly in Florida). Apparently climbing up the victim’s pant leg is something all feral mama cats teach their young. We thought she must belong to someone, but after a week or so of canvassing the neighborhood we discovered she was part of a feral litter that lives in the park. She no longer wants anything to do with the great outdoors. She will sit by the window or by the sliding glass door (depending on which view she’s interested in) but if the door opens, she bolts in the opposite direction.

Smokey

Smokey

Petey was Fran’s cat (my mother-in-law who recently passed). Petey has the ability to squeeze himself into any box or basket he takes a liking to, however small. I was going through boxes in the front room yesterday and had plans for this basket. So did Petey. I let him have it.

Petey

Petey

All of our cats have green or greenish eyes.

Our cats have a great life. They get to enjoy my garden and hammock more than I do. I would love to not have to go to work every day, to lounge around and be fed by someone else. Have someone else pay the bills.

And I am jealous of them.

