Bringing Order Out of Chaos – Front Flower Bed

New Flowers for My Garden

New Flowers for My Garden

I came this close to starting a new blog, then the more lucid part of me said “Are you crazy? You’re just barely getting the hang of this one!”

So I made a new category instead.

One of my goals for this year is Bringing Order Out of Chaos (I’m capitalizing this because it’s a very big goal).

I am a neat freak by nature. When I was a stay at home mom, the house was pretty much spotless and could have functioned as a location for just about any decorating magazine. When we were in the military and moving every couple of years, we regularly pitched and tossed things. When I taught piano and flute at home, everything naturally stayed picked up.

Then we got out of the military, I entered corporate world and we didn’t move as often. The routines of going through every room in strict rotation pitching anything that wasn’t nailed down went by the wayside for some day when I was going to have more time.

I finally figured out that day is like an old family friend’s “Fourth of Juvember” – it never arrives.

All we have is today. So anything I do today helps, however small.

That’s been a tough thing for me to acknowledge. I am a marathoner by nature. I like to do things in one big block of time, start to finish, and mark it done. But the reality is, I don’t have that many big blocks of time. I had a big block of time this past week while I was on vacation, and during rainy days I spent quite a bit of time organizing the kitchen (my current target). But the weather turned gorgeous and a little cool for this time of year and guess what? I wanted to be out enjoying it. Soon it will be too hot to be out for very long at a time without risking heat stroke and our famous summer lightning storms will arrive. Spring in Florida is sweet and fleeting and tomorrow I go back to work, making today especially precious as it not only my last day of freedom but also the last day for me to check off what I had planned to accomplish during vacation on my little chart (I am a chart and spreadsheet fanatic – also very big on gold stars – even if they are only in orange ink beside whatever chore I’ve just completed.)

So I replanted the front flower bed as a way to accomplish my goal of getting things done around the house while enjoying the outside as well. I had planned to take another picture of the gloriously beautiful front flower bed and post that, but we were visited yesterday morning early by the pressure washers. (When they said “We’ll come by in a day or two,” I never dreamed they meant early Sunday morning on a holiday weekend – live and learn!) So my gorgeous lilies are a bit less gorgeous now (whether from fright or too-vigorous pressure washing I don’t know). Hopefully they will recover (they were expensive lilies).

Oriental Lily "After Eight"

Oriental Lily “After Eight”

Fluffy Marigolds

Fluffy Marigolds

Pink Caladium

Pink Caladium

I’m writing this in Outdoor Office # 2 – the back patio where the hammock is, thus accomplishing my writing goal and my staying outside as long as possible goal.

As soon as this is finished I’ll go back for another round in the kitchen (which I will finish today come hell or high water).

Checking for rain…

Backyard Blue Sky

Backyard Blue Sky

Nope, not today.

Wish me luck, say a prayer and I’ll keep you posted!

