Bringing Order Out of Chaos – Kitchen (Part 1)

I am halfway through reorganizing my kitchen, y’all!

It’s a big kitchen and there’s a lot to go through. We already had quite a bit and we are still going through some of Fran’s things. (Fran was my mother-in-law who passed away earlier this year) Fran and I both loved to cook so it’s been a process of “stack it in a corner and see what we use” – that works to a degree, but it’s not a long-term solution, particularly since we have to go through the kitchen to get to the rest of the house.

This morning I got the bright idea to tag what I had already done if for no other reason than to give me strength and motivation to finish the job today. And I was pleasantly surprised to see I was farther along than I thought!

I have hung 10 “Done!” tags on shelves, doors, and cabinets. Wahoo!

I tend to focus on how much more there is to go rather than how far I’ve come. Sometimes it’s good to look back, if only to gain perspective on moving forward.

Fran and I both loved to cook so cooking supplies and cookbooks and sharing recipes were a big part of our life together. Up to this point, my cookbooks lived on part of a countertop. Fortunately, I had (just before the move to this house) gone through my cookbooks and pared down to just my favorite tried and true ones. Fran was a very good cook and she had a huge floor to ceiling bookshelf filled with cookbooks. After going through them and clearing her house, there were still a lot I wanted to investigate, partly because by now I’m bored with my current cookbooks. But they wouldn’t all fit on the shelf. Then I remembered my daughter’s old bookshelf that was out in the garage – which fit perfectly right next to the pantry.

Cookbook Corner

Cookbook Corner

Fran had a clever little hangy thing that plastic grocery bags fit into. She also had her shopping bag that she used to take to the Farmer’s Market when we would go most Saturday mornings. I haven’t been to the Farmer’s Market but once since she passed. Hopefully I’ll go back soon.

Behind the Kitchen Door

Behind the Kitchen Door

I also label what goes on each shelf, partly in case anyone else in the house empties the dishwasher, but mostly to remind myself where things go and enhance the chances of them getting back to that particular spot.

Pantry

Pantry

Labeled Dish Shelves

Labeled Dish Shelves

Halfway Done!

Halfway Done!

And done! (The first half, anyway!)

