Bringing Order Out of Chaos – Slowly (Kitchen Part 2)

Best laid plans…

I did not finish the kitchen as planned. But I am farther along than I would have been if I hadn’t started. And then continued on the starting. And will continue again today.

Dishtowel/Oven Mitt Drawer

Dishtowel/Oven Mitt Drawer

Dang it.

If anyone had told me I would be posting pictures of my kitchen for the entire world to see I would not have believed it. Yet here I am, not only doing that very thing, but missing a deadline doing it.

Baking Supply Drawer

Baking Supply Drawer

I never miss deadlines.

Baking Supply Cabinet

Baking Supply Cabinet

And I would have been perfectly content to stay with it until it was done but I made the mistake of sitting down for a minute and fell asleep on the couch. Followed by my husband’s suggestion that I go to bed. The “I can do anything” part of me was asleep or she would have argued. The common sense part of me said “Get serious. You have to go to work in the morning.”

Symmetry

Symmetry

So now the kitchen is 3/4 done instead of totally done.

Under Sink World

Under Sink World

Dang it.

That really bothers me.

I would have been slightly farther along but Daughter and I made a trip to the Container Store on the way home yesterday and spent far too long in there. We found many wonderful things, none of which will fit in my kitchen. I tried my best to imagine fitting the one silverware divider that was constructed exactly the way I wanted it into our too-narrow drawer (thank you, Hubby for responding to my SOS from the front lines with your tape measure). The good news is, this saved me from buying a too wide silverware drawer insert and then returning it (who has time for that?). The bad news is, it ruined a perfectly good fantasy of how the drawer would have looked, if only…

I hate measurements sometimes. They’re so final and not flexible at all.

In my world, things go much more quickly than they do in the real world. And things are pliable and adjustable. And things I want magically fit. And they’re on sale.

Oh well. Here we are in the real world trying to make the most of it.

Who am I kidding? I’m pouting.

But I am also 3/4 of the way done!

Over the Stove

Over the Stove

I have one more set of pantry-type cabinets to do and then the pots and pans cabinets and then I’ll be totally done.

I’d like to say I’ll be done today, but since it’s a work day, there may not be that many hours left. So I’m getting a head start by at least doing something before I have to leave for the office.

I have no idea now when this will be done.

For now I’m going with “It will be done.”

God help me.

Hopefully in this century.

Hopefully in this lifetime…

