Bringing Order Out of Chaos – Part 3

I’m in the home stretch of the kitchen now and at least it looks good (as all the to-dos are behind cabinet doors. Two upper cabinets, three lower cabinets, and the stove drawer to be exact. I’m dreading these as it’s all spices, pots and pans, bakeware, and utensils. I actually tried to find a new set of pots and pans that I liked and could afford (found one or the other, not both at the same time) just to have everything match. Since a new couch for the library/music room/living room is also on my list, I just told myself to suck it up and sort. Which I will do. Eventually.

Yesterday was all about grocery shopping and errand-running and today was my nemesis – beautiful weather and writing going well. But the yard looks fabulous (except for the oriental lilies, who dropped every perfect, beautiful, luscious pink blossom they had and are probably sending an SOS to the garden center to come and rescue them from this pressure washing hellhole.) I fed them, watered them, spoke softly to them, and promised them if they will just hang in there until the painting is done life will get better. I replanted two of my Easter lilies from the bed by the garden door to the front bed for moral support. (The two that I thought died last year resurrected themselves – they are Easter lilies after all – and are about to bloom, which left that bed too crowded since the amaryllis decided to reproduce like mad and I added Fran’s rose to the mix.)

It's a miracle!

It’s a miracle!

I bathed all the dogs (they were less than thrilled but now they are clean and presentable) and wrote while they dried in the sun.

The Princess hates being wet.

The Princess hates being wet.

I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect silverware sorting tray as the old one is too small. I visited many, many container stores, home stores, discount stores this past week only to have my hopes dashed time and again as the one sorter I did like would not fit. I finally gave up and then, as luck would have it, found it in (of all places) the grocery store while I was buying food and not looking for a silverware sorter at all. Who knew?

The once-dreaded silverware drawer - tamed!

The once-dreaded silverware drawer – tamed!

Of course once I had watered the oriental lilies, the weather turned (another stealth ninja storm brewing) and one of my birds dropped by for a snack just in case.

Bird on a Wire

Bird on a Wire

But the good news is the plumeria started blooming this morning

First plumeria bloom!

First plumeria bloom!

And continued blooming this afternoon

Plumeria PM

Plumeria PM

A day well spent – unless the oriental lilies have me arrested. I can hear the Plant 911 call now: “Yesterday was HOT and she didn’t water us at all and today she watered us and now it’s raining and I’m telling you, man, we’ve got to get out of here.”

Ah well. Tomorrow is another day.

