Coffee in My Garden – At Last!

We (and by we I mean Tinkerbell (the Chihuahua), Bean (the Quaker Parrot) and I are out here in my garden a little earlier than usual (I usually wait until my hubby has left for work so as not to rub in the fact that we are off on Fridays and he is not) but since Tropical Storm Andrea did a fly by yesterday, we were sick of being indoors and jumped at the opportunity to be outside without being completely drenched!

Petey and The Princess

Petey and The Princess

Well…most of us. Petey and The Princess do not do mornings.

Call me when you're ready to go shopping or out to lunch.

Call me when you’re ready to go shopping or out to lunch.

While I was making coffee, Lord Cardinal appeared at the feeder and chirped “Good morning, come out please.”

Lord Cardinal

Lord Cardinal

And Lady Cardinal teased that she wanted her picture taken, but chickened out at the last minute.

Lady Cardinal Playing Peekaboo

Lady Cardinal Playing Peekaboo

We were out before the squirrels – 0707 – first squirrel has arrived.

First squirrel arrives!

First squirrel arrives!

And then the blue jay. Bless his heart, he tries to pose for me. And if I were just a little quicker, I would have some fabulous pictures of him but alas during this rainy, nasty week my photography skills have suffered. Oh well. The perfectionist in me says only post perfect pictures. The realist in me says I may not live that long.

Peanut run!

Peanut run!

The dove, to make up for this, stood there and stared at me until I took its picture.

Dove Posing

Dove Posing


The doves make me laugh. Our image of peaceful doves was forever shattered one day when we were late filling the squirrel bowl (I start with nuts for the squirrels and blue jays and finish up with a round of seed for the latecomers and the doves, who don’t do the bird feeder). One of the doves appeared one day when the bowl was empty, peered inside the bowl, looked at me with utter contempt, and kicked the bowl over. Hubby and I had a good laugh about that. I wish I had a video of it.

A pair of new blackbirds arrived. I haven’t seen them before. Not sure what they are and they are not standing still or getting close enough for me to identify them. They’re black and fast so until I get a picture (at all) or proper identification, they are my SR-71 blackbirds.

SR-71 Blackbirds - ours are a little smaller

SR-71 Blackbirds – ours are a little smaller

We were lucky. All we got out of this storm was a lot of rain and high wind. Apologies to my orchids – I left them out in a light drizzle which turned into a pounding storm while I was asleep. I put them under cover for yesterday, our main rain day, but they are still pouting.

In favor of the extra rain: Side garden Easter lilies which are in glorious bloom – who cares that they can't tell time. I'm happy to see them.

Side Garden Easter Lilies
