Pup Walk – Gemini Springs

Hello, Sunshine!

Hello, Sunshine!

The good thing about rainy days is it really makes you appreciate the sun when it returns.

For me, it also means my chances of staying indoors are zero percent or less.

The plan was to find a new area to walk. I need new things from time to time to perk me up and this applies to places and experiences as well.

The weather, while vastly improved, is still a tad iffy (hello hurricane season!) so our winter walks (lots of sun, no cover) have given way to our summer walk pattern (mornings instead of afternoons, shady instead of sunny, cover if needed for the pop-up thunderstorm).

Gemini Springs, a little north of Orlando seemed to fit that bill.

I looked at the link and had a good laugh. Apparently they took their picture from the very spot I took mine! (No offense, I like mine better).

Normally I look at the trails and have everything mapped out before I go. This morning was different. I mapped out two other parks and walks in town and ditched them both in favor of going somewhere I knew nothing about other than people had told me it was pretty. So we had no idea where we were headed or what it would be like.

First path we took

First path we took

We had the trail to ourselves, always a treat.

We took the road less traveled by

We took the road less traveled by

Around the bend

Around the bend

Pups in the Sun

Pups in the Sun

We saw a pair of blue jays, two pairs of cardinals, and an anhinga sunning.

Anhinga Sunning

Anhinga Sunning

We almost missed the spring – there’s a tiny little bump out with a tiny little sign that says “Spring” – my first thought was “Where?” but sure enough, there it was.

And this is it - the spring!

And this is it – the spring!

