Weekly Photo Challenge – The Golden Hour

This week’s photo challenge is The Golden Hour .

My first reaction after working for trauma surgeons for so long was “Are you kidding?” – in trauma the golden hour is something entirely different.

In Florida the hour before sunset is best described as “when the mosquitos come out” and the hour after sunrise is “when the mosquitos should be gone but aren’t yet.”

With our trees and fence to the west, evening golden hour is not conducive to pictures at our house, plus it’s usually raining, lightning, or overcast at that time here in the summer (I could have gotten some great lightning photos yesterday, but unless someone pays me big money for them, I will leave that to someone else.)

I’m always up during the morning golden hour, but not usually outside yet. I decided to try it this morning and despite a battle royale with my camera and the mosquitos (if they just sucked fat instead of biting, it wouldn’t be so bad), I’m glad I did.

My camera thinks I’m an idiot. She thinks she knows a lot more than I do and for the most part she does. I am normally content to give her free rein but today I had specific instructions to follow and Little Red (my camera) was not happy.

Little Red

Little Red in the Golden Hour

Little Red: You took my automatic setting off. Why did you do that?
Me: Because you flashed. I don’t want flash. I want morning light.

Little Red helping with flash

Little Red helping with flash

Little Red: There is no morning light. That’s why I turned on the flash for you.
Me: See that pink in the east? That’s morning light.

Morning light

Morning light

Little Red: You get more light from a sparkler, which, by the way, I have a setting for.
Me: No thank you.
Little Red: Fine. Do it your way. Your pictures will look like crap, but whatever.

Little Red's Revenge

Little Red’s Revenge

Me: Hey! You took off the anti-blur thingy!
Little Red: Thought you didn’t want my help.
Me: I wanted it on that!

I swear she looked smug.

So we did another round of photos. Some my way…

My way

My way

Some her way…

Her way

Her way

Some we both liked

Golden Hour Palm

Golden Hour Palm

Then we began to collaborate

Little Red: See the blue jay? See it? See it?
Me: Yes, I see it.
Little Red: Let me! Let me! You’ll screw it up!
Me: No, I won’t.
Little Red: But you have to – okay, good – now – okay…maybe you can do this…
Me: Don’t let me blur it!

Golden Hour Blue Jay

Golden Hour Blue Jay

Both of us: YAY!

And it was fun…except for the mosquitos.

