Coffee in My Garden – Being Grateful

Old Gratitude Journals

Old Gratitude Journals

If there’s a theme for this week, it would be “my heart overflows with gratitude” – So happy to have our Marine home, for us to be all together again. Last night we had our first family portrait done in over twenty years – can hardly wait to post those pictures, but they won’t be in for several weeks. You’ve seen the last one we had done when we were stationed in Japan. Hopefully by the time the new ones come in I will have found our first family portrait, taken when hubby and I were both on active duty in the Air Force.

Daughter and I had a wonderful Girls’ Day Out yesterday shopping for the photo shoot. Our theme was “Dresses” and we found several, including the ones we wore in the pictures last night. As an added bonus, we discovered we had each dropped a size since the last time we went shopping together!

After watching me chase a butterfly around our garden in a futile attempt to take a photo of it, our son gave me his video camera! So I am lying in wait for a butterfly or hummingbird, whichever comes first (he also put the hummingbird feeder up for me).

Can hardly wait to get video of Gizmo swimming!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Cardinal checking out new hummingbird feeder

Cardinal checking out new hummingbird feeder

I started a gratitude journal years ago when it seemed there was less to be grateful for and more to complain about. Somewhere between then and now, gratitude has become part of who I am. I no longer have a gratitude journal, it’s part of my everyday existence. And when I go back and reread those journals, I see that the times, though challenging, were very sweet indeed and I’m grateful I captured those moments.

