Coffee in My Garden – In the Dark

My garden office by lamplight

My garden office by lamplight

I am up early today – no surprise there. It’s an at-home day, as we will all be at Universal Studios tomorrow celebrating Hubby’s birthday (which was actually last month, but it took us this long to find a weekend when we were all free).

So I will be very busy doing all the mundane chore-like things so I can enjoy tomorrow and hopefully relax and recover on Sunday.

And as usual, after a week of being cooped up in my windowless office, I want to be outside.

I expected to have more light at 0630, but I don’t.

Sky at 0630

Sky at 0630

I am out here nevertheless, with a beach towel thrown over my chair because it rained yesterday before we got home (it was gorgeous when we left the house – such is life in Florida) and the cushions are still wet.

The dogs think I’m crazy. They are snoozing inside.

The cats also think I’m crazy, but they’re enjoying the novelty of having me out at this hour. Sort of…

I was napping...

I was napping…

Beanie the parrot enjoys her weekends outdoors (not the entire weekend, just mornings in the garden with me while I write). When I went outside without her she squawked. Loudly and repeatedly until I brought her out (mostly so the guys could sleep – they are also off today).

My intrepid companion

My intrepid companion

The world out here looks very different in the dark. It feels like camping. It feels cozy. Except for the bugs, I like it. They do, too. Apparently I am their midnight buffet.

Same shot 0645

Same shot 0645

Normally there are birds on this wire. Today I am up before they are. Slackers.

The birds aren't even up yet

The birds aren’t even up yet

Sky at 0700

Sky at 0700

0720 – wire check

There they are!

There they are!

First squirrel arrives 0730

First squirrel arrives 0730

I had a point and a purpose for this morning. It wasn’t going to be a running commentary on what’s happening moment by moment in my garden office.

I have no idea now what that profound piece of wisdom was. It was lost in a game of peekaboo with the squirrels.

Peekaboo

Peekaboo

I see you

I see you

The baby cardinals have arrived as have the slightly older cardinals, the doves, the red-winged blackbirds, and my blue jay.

Blue jay says "Good morning"

Blue jay says “Good morning”

I think I’ll have another cup of coffee, relax, and enjoy the show.

Young cardinal fly by

Young cardinal fly by

