Pup Walk – Gaston Edwards Park

GEP3

The pups and I had just about given up walking entirely between the heat and the rain. We ventured out last weekend on what we had planned to be a mile walk around a lovely lake. Halfway around it started to rain, so we still did a mile total (even though it was the same half-mile at a much faster pace). It was one of those cloud dumps – no warning, just sudden deluge. The dogs were not pleased (even Gizmo, who loves to swim, does not like being rained on). The Princess was traumatized completely and the Chihuahuas shivered and looked annoyed all the way home.

So when I picked up their leashes yesterday evening, they all looked me as if to say “Are you kidding? We’re not going anywhere with you after last time.” No joyful barks, leaps, or running to the door.

But once we were out, they enjoyed it.

Gaston Edwards Park is not far from the house, on North Orange Avenue in the section known as Antique Row (it was cloudy, we were only taking small chances).

I didn’t bring my camera because I was as convinced as they were it was going to rain, but the temperature is finally dropping (to 80-ish), there was a light breeze and it promised to be a beautiful night. I wish I had brought my camera, but I had my cell phone.

Cell Phone: I can take pictures. You said I was better than your other phone.
Me: Yes, I know. And you are.
CP: It’s not like Little Red is the only camera in the world you know. And I don’t complain.
Me: And I’m grateful.
CP: You’re lucky you have me.
Me: Yes, I am. And thank you.

If you’ve ever driven I-4 into or out of Orlando, you have seen this park. It’s on Lake Ivanhoe between the Lake Ivanhoe and Princeton exits.

It’s one of the few city lakes with a boat ramp.

Boat Ramp

Boat Ramp

On the north side

On the north side

I wish I had been able to get more of a close up on the kayaker with the dog –

CP: Are you starting in on me again?
Me: Of course not. I was just saying Little Red could have gotten a better –
CP: Can Little Red map your walk and mileage like I can?
Me: No
CP: HA!

Kayaker with dog

Kayaker with dog

Kayaker and Dog Again

Kayaker and Dog Again

CP: Is that better?
Me: Yes, thank you.

We stopped on the fishing pier

We stopped on the fishing pier

Yuki and Gizmo on the fishing pier

Yuki and Gizmo on the fishing pier

WP GE

Oak with Antique Row in the background

Oak with Antique Row in the background

Another view from the pier

Another view from the pier

Heading home

Heading home

The park was fairly busy with walkers, joggers, bike riders, volleyball players (this park is known for its volleyball net and almost constant games in progress), children on the miniscule playground, people fishing. There is also an Italian restaurant by the boat landing. Still, it didn’t feel crowded. Most of the activity was on the shopping side. Those of us on the lake side (except for the volleyball players) were in a peaceful, meditative state, so even though there were quite a few of us, we managed to keep the zen-like atmosphere.

Twilight at Lake Ivanhoe

Twilight at Lake Ivanhoe

CP: That’s my favorite picture.
Me: Mine, too.

