Coffee in My Garden – Through New Eyes

Good morning, sunrise!

Good morning, sunrise!

I don’t get sick very often (thankfully). It’s way too difficult to catch up afterward.

This is my first day back in my garden after being in hibernation most of the week. Usually my garden plays a big role in my healing. Often an hour or so in my hammock just listening to the birds, letting the gentle breeze wash over me does me more good than just about any medicine.

I haven’t done that in a long time.

Hmmmm…

This was a week of cave-like darkness, catching up on House Hunters International (if I ever move anywhere else again the weather has to be nice, there has to be a spectacular beach within walking distance – and I mean real walking distance, not real-estate-agent- trying-to-sell-a-house walking distance, hopefully with a great view from the deck as well, big rooms, a soaker tub, and no hideous plumbing or bathroom fixtures.)

Yesterday was my first day back at work and I survived. I was only out two days, but the amount of work that had piled up (lots of special projects plus my regular job, which used to be done by three people and now is done by me) made it seem more like two weeks. So I stayed late last night to catch up.

My body is on the upswing, but not yet up to errand-running marathons (will save that for this afternoon…or maybe tomorrow). It wants to watch the squirrels and birds and sky and relax.

So that is what we are doing.

The sky is very blue today

The sky is very blue today

The cardinal families have come in rotation (we have three generations of them now, best we can tell). The little cardinals are flying well now and very proud of that. They glide in and land at their spot on the feeder with a minimum of fuss and then look at me as if to say “Did you see that? Didn’t I do that fabulously?”

The squirrel trio and duo have scampered by and now the neighboring squirrels are coming over.

I’ve missed them.

Where have you been?

Where have you been?

I am behind on my writing schedule (my brain was up to watching travel shows, wedding shows, and Duck Dynasty, but thinking made it hurt, so today is writing catch up day.)

My rose bloomed when I wasn't looking

My rose bloomed when I wasn’t looking

I haven’t actually been away, (just on the other side of the wall) though it feels as though I have.

It’s good to be back.

