Coffee in My Garden – Patriot’s Corner

When I started this blog, my goal was very simple – to get my artist friends (all of whom had blogs and couldn’t believe that I, the writer, did not) to stop nagging me about it. That led to me declaring a holiday “International Do What You Want Day” which I spent in my hammock on a beautiful afternoon reading a book start to finish. (I was also so traumatized from trying to learn how to post the danged thing I didn’t go near it again for a year).

Back in the spring, my daughter picked up the “You really need a blog, Mom,” refrain (and to be fair, she was not the only one, but she was the only one who didn’t let me get away with a nod, a smile, and a promise to think about it.) I tried to deflect her with “I have one, thanks.” That wasn’t good enough. She actually expected me to do something with it.

Great-Grandpa's happy new year card 1909

Great-Grandpa’s happy new year card 1909

I was an occasional guest columnist for whatever local newspaper we happened to be in the vicinity of, so why it took me so long to think of this as my very own column, I do not know. Only the medium has changed.

Thank you for being here. Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to stop by my garden and relax a minute. I appreciate each one of you.

My aim in starting this blog was to escape the chaos of everyday life, to enjoy the good things, to stop and breathe.

Here in the U. S. things are a little chaotic right now and unfortunately, as an American, I cannot ignore that. So I have created a new category, Patriot’s Corner, where I will comment on the things I think need commenting on because I am an American who loves my country and this is what we do.

My great-grandfather, Don Vicente Ros

My great-grandfather, Don Vicente Ros

I never had the privilege of meeting my great-grandfather, Don Vicente, who first came to this country from either Barcelona or Valencia, Spain (depending on who’s telling the story), but from all accounts he was a good man who was very proud of being an American, who brought his children and grandchildren up to value faith, freedom, and opportunity. He felt strongly enough about those things to uproot his entire life and start over in a new land. I owe it to him to at least comment when things get a tad off course.

For the most part, Escape From Chaos will continue to be just that – a safe zone, a secret garden to come and see butterfly pictures and hear squirrel stories, see where the pups and I are walking these days (wish us luck with that and thank you National Park Service for turning what just a couple of weeks ago were boring everyday Americans out on a leisurely walk to see the fall colors into fugitives evading capture). All I can say is, thank God Uncle Boley’s Honor Flight was last spring so he didn’t have to kick his own barricade out of the way.

I recently re-watched a video my niece took of my brother-in-law’s brother-in-law, Uncle Boley, a US Marine who fought in the Pacific during World War II. The video was made last spring when she accompanied Uncle Boley on his Honor Flight to Washington, D.C. She gave me permission to copy it, but I can’t get it to work. Back then, when veterans were free to walk the grounds they paid for, even the TSA applauded them as they walked through the airport.

Uncle Boley then (with Aunt June)

Uncle Boley then (with Aunt June)

Uncle Boley telling our nephew about Saipan

Uncle Boley telling our nephew about Saipan

Uncle Boley with nephew and great-nephews who came to DC to meet up with his Honor Flight

Uncle Boley with nephew and great-nephews who came to DC to meet up with his Honor Flight

I have had the honor and privilege of living all over the world and while I have a left a piece of my heart in each country, each state I’ve visited, America is my home. I care greatly what happens here.

I once took an oath to defend this country from all enemies foreign and domestic.

I just never pictured myself having to defend our World War II veterans from the National Park Service and bone-headed politicians.

