Pup Walk – Mead Garden and Beyond

I might as well just accept the fact that after a week of being cooped up in my windowless office I don’t want to be inside any more.

I always start the day with the thought “I’ll stay inside and get the house in order.”

And I really intend to.

Today I came pretty close. I didn’t go outside to have coffee with the birds and squirrels this morning. I knew if I did, I wouldn’t come back in. My son took the parrot out for breakfast with her friends. We try to take her out later in the day instead of early morning because we’re in fall now – not that you can tell much difference in Florida, but one of the clues is it’s in the 60’s at night. In her mind, she’s being cheated of her outdoor time. She wants to be out at dawn.

I actually started on my list.

I thought that would make me happy. Instead it made me sad and cranky and I didn’t know why.

I have a great life. I have a family who loves me, a diverse group of friends I care about. What was wrong with me?

Then I had this thought: Solvitur ambulando. It is solved by walking.

One of the things on my list was to walk the dogs.

Ready to go!

Yuki and Gizmo ready to go!

It’s still hot here – 89 degrees – but it’s Fall Hot, not nearly as humid as Summer Hot. The joke around here is Florida has two seasons – hot and hotter.

I didn’t want to go too far afield because I really am working on the house today, but I wanted something new.

We haven’t been to Mead Garden in a few months, so decided to check it out.

Mead Garden Entrance Road

Mead Garden Entrance Road

Bat house or NSA surveillance? You decide.

Bat house or NSA surveillance? You decide.

Not many flowers now, but berries are out.

Not many flowers now, but berries are out.

Butterfly Garden

Butterfly Garden

I’ve seen another entrance to the park from a nearby street, but the path is part of the wetlands and when we tried to follow it all the way through last spring, it was flooded.

This time we made it all the way to the other side.

Success!

Success!

We walked on toward Rollins College, but it was pretty hot. When Yuki’s tail stops curling she’s tired so I picked her up. Gizmo can go for a long time and surprisingly, as tiny as Tinkerbell is, she can cover a lot of ground without getting tired.

Time for a break

Time for a break

We paused in the shade and enjoyed the lake view. That’s Rollins College in the background. Lots of other people were out jogging or biking or walking their dogs. One little girl was getting good use out of her hot pink scooter. We didn’t break any speed records. Children wanted to pet the dogs, another lady was out with her pup, who wanted to visit with our dogs and we had a nice chat. One couple, who also have three dogs, admired ours. They were moving lovely antiques from their van to the house. I’m sure they were ready for a break and I enjoyed getting to see their finds.

Enjoying the lake view

Enjoying the lake view

On our initial trek down the trail I was on alert for snakes but didn’t see any. On the way back, just inside the entrance to the park, we spooked one. I tried to get a picture of it, but it was too fast. Nothing dangerous, just a little black snake.

The snake was here

The snake was here

By the time we arrived back home, the pups were exhausted and I was in a much better mood.

It really is solved by walking.

