So You’re Thinking of Starting a Blog…My First Real Year (Almost) as a Blogger

When I started this blog almost 2 years ago, it was for one reason only – to make my friends, who had blogs, stop nagging me about starting one. They thought I should have one. And they were right. It just took me a while to catch on. They also roped me into doing an art show.

Victoria (painter), Me, Maureen (sculptor), Shari (painter), Elle (poet), Cheryl (painter), Lillian (painter, photographer)

Victoria (painter), Me, Maureen (sculptor), Shari (painter), Elle (poet), Cheryl (painter), Lillian (painter, photographer)

Almost 1 year ago, I was having lunch with my daughter

My Darling Daughter

My Darling Daughter

and she also mentioned that she thought I should have a blog. I told her I had one, I just hadn’t done anything with it (other than the inaugural post, which took me forever because though the writing came easily, I had no idea what I was doing otherwise). I thought that would end the conversation. It didn’t until I promised her I would “do something with it.” What, I didn’t know.

So I wrote about the day we went to lunch – a magical day that ended with a new (to me) violin and tweets from Charlie Daniels.

I had no real plan, other than wanting to write again (I’ve been paid for writing in the past and hope to be again in the future) and to get everyone to stop nagging me. No goals, no charts, no nothing except the joy of writing again. Through many years and many moves (thank you, U.S. Air Force) I had been guest columnist from time to time for whatever paper in whatever city we were in and loved it. Why it took me so long to realize that with my blog, I could fulfill a long-held dream – my very own column! And on my terms. (I feel like such an idiot sometimes).

What I didn’t see coming was a return to another love, photography. I married a photographer and our daughter loves photography as well, so more often than not they took the pictures. Hubby’s camera was big and expensive and I was afraid to touch it. Daughter got my old camera when she showed an interest and talent for photography. She returned the favor last year. She upgraded to a new camera and gave me Little Red.

And happy surprise – my top posts are all about photography! That made me smile. It actually made me laugh because it was so unexpected. And it brought me great joy.

So for those of you who may be toying with the idea of starting a blog, I say go for it! It will stretch you. It may frustrate you (where did that post go? where did that picture go? Augghhhh!). I was so traumatized with my first post, it was a year before I tried it again. But you will figure it out (and if you don’t, there’s a wonderful support staff – thank God!) It will also bring you great joy, make you look at whatever you’re writing about in a whole new way, and introduce you to wonderful people from all over the world. You will see your world with new eyes and because you need things to write about, you will do more things. If God put the dream in you to be writing, you’re supposed to be writing. Do it. Do it now.

To those of you in the 70 countries (according to my first ever Annual Report) who stopped by my garden – thank you. I hope you continue to pop in from time to time. To the rest of you, come on by!

To those of you who have been at this for a while, thank you for your encouragement and inspiration. I continue to be amazed at your blogs and learn from them.

I hope that next year’s Annual Report will be as exciting as this one was for me. And for those of you who are new at this as I am – we did it! Hurrah!

Wishing you all the best the new year may bring. May this be the year that all of our dreams come true.

