Girls’ Day Out/Pup Walk – Gemini Springs

Hell Week for the Laramie Project starts tomorrow. (For non-theatre people, that’s the week before a show opens when we’re adding lights, sound, video, costuming, whatever). It’s stressful. If you had a life before, you don’t have one now until the show opens. (If you’re in Orlando, come see us!).

Daughter and I managed to carve out some time for each other yesterday for a Girls’ Day Out. Fitness was on both of our New Years’ Resolution lists so we planned a hike at Gemini Springs.

Squirrel Hung Out with Us

Squirrel Hung Out with Us

Gemini Springs is a favorite of ours. It’s an easy drive from Orlando (30 minutes depending on I-4 traffic). It has a mix of woodsy trails and paved trails. There is also a dog park, which the pups enjoy. The squirrels pose for pictures. Wildlife is abundant (a cardinal, my favorite bird, popped by to say hello and waited for me to notice his handsome self before he flew away). In our first five minutes there we saw a blue heron catch a fish, an anhinga walking up to his neck in water (tried to get a picture but he ducked under), several red-shouldered hawks.

Red-shouldered Hawk

Red-shouldered Hawk

I brought my camera yesterday, but we were just enjoying the day, the walk, each other so I didn’t take as many pictures as usual. These photos are a mix of yesterday’s hike (80 degrees) and the Winter’s Day hike the pups and I took while I was on vacation over New Year’s (30-ish degrees).

That day was as cold as yesterday was warm. Tinkerbell and Li’l Bit took it in stride as long as we were moving, but when I stopped to take pictures (a lot that day) they let me know they preferred to be moving. The sky was a gorgeous blue I had to capture, so I stretched out on the ground to get a good shot of the sky – only to have the pups pile on!

I'm trying to take a picture here

I’m trying to take a picture here

Look at that blue sky!

Look at that blue sky!

We’ve been there several times, but still have managed to find trails and paths we hadn’t taken before. Tinkerbell’s limit is 1 mile, and she knows when she’s reached it. We had to laugh yesterday. I turned Runkeeper on but didn’t pay attention to it and when Tinkerbell signaled she was ready to stop, it was just a shade over a mile. (I didn’t tell Tinkerbell, but we walked a quarter mile or so before I remembered to turn it on).

We walked clear to the OK Corral!

We walked clear to the OK Corral!

The Princess and Tinkerbell taking a water break

The Princess, Tinkerbell and Li’l Bit taking a water break

After the hike, we dropped the pups off at the house, went out to a very late lunch, then shopping at a huge mall near where we used to live (it has my daughter’s favorite cosmetics store). I should have tracked our distance there – I think it was longer than the trail! I definitely broke in my new hiking shoes.

Go here to see a picture of the trail in the opposite direction.

All in all, a lovely, carefree day much enjoyed. I’m grateful.

