Pup Walk – Sunday Stroll

It’s been raining a lot lately (including this morning as I write this). Sunday was beautiful and the pups and I weren’t about to miss it. We had intended to walk around Lake Eola (a mile) but there was some festival or other going on so traffic was a nightmare and parking was $5 so we moved on to Plan B.

Park Lake

Park Lake

I’ve driven by Park Lake many times and thought it might be nice to walk around but during the week traffic on Colonial Drive is horrendous and parking is sparse (but free). On Sunday afternoon, however, parking was wide open and the pups and I were in the mood for something new.

Ducks on the Lake

Ducks on the Lake

It’s a short walk (a little over .6 mile) but Li’l Bit is just getting over a sore paw so I wanted an easy walk that wouldn’t stress her (she loves to walk) and short enough so if I had to pick her up I could (and still manage the other three dogs). Happily, I did not have to pick her up.

As it turned out, that small lake in the city is birder’s paradise. Every few feet there was a new flock of birds to admire. Ibis, white ducks, wood ducks, mallards – I was kicking myself that I didn’t bring Little Red (my trusty camera).

Little Red: As well you should have! What is wrong with you?
Me: I said I was sorry!

Anhinga posing

Anhinga posing

Big Blue Heron

Big Blue Heron

As far as I know, Japanese Chins and Chihuahuas are not bird dogs, but Yuki and Tinkerbell really wanted to see the ducks. It reminded me of Buddy, our golden retriever, who didn’t need a leash and would stay right by my side – unless he spotted a duck. I wondered if he was with us in spirit and telling the girls about the joys of duck retrieving.

Yuki and Tinkerbell

Yuki and Tinkerbell

It was a stressful weekend (two funerals to attend) and I needed some quiet time, some beauty, some reconnection with my life and where I am now and where I want to go. I think St. Augustine had it right when he said “It is solved by walking.” It always is for me.

