Girls’ Day Out – Ethos Vegan Restaurant & Winter Park Scenic Boat Tour

My new writing buddy

My new writing buddy

My daughter and I try to get together at least once a month or so for an outing. Today we hadn’t planned anything more than picking up her maid of honor dress, doing a little shopping, and then going out to lunch. Her dress fit perfectly and required no alterations. I found a perfect beach bag at the Container Store – one big enough to hold our beach stuff and Princess Miyuki, my Japanese Chin, who isn’t crazy about walking on sand.

We knew it was going to be a good day. We popped into the Goodwill Boutique near the house and I thought I’d be safe as I’m in save mode (for my upcoming writer’s conference) and there wasn’t anything I really needed. Three books and a Pilates DVD later, I saw a Build a Bear teddy bear who looked me in the eyes and said “Get me out of here.” I had to comply (and then fight The Princess for him later – while I was cooking dinner she was rooting through my shopping bag, dug him out from the bottom and ran off with him. I’d let her have him except she treated him like prey so I rescued him once again. Now she’s sulking and pretending she never wanted him in the first place.)

Yuki the Bear Killer

Yuki the Bear Killer

It being a meatless Friday during Lent, I dared to try one of my daughter’s favorite vegan restaurants, Ethos. Daughter is vegan, I am not. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the restaurant, as have many others judging from the wall of awards in their hallway.

Ethos inside

Ethos inside

Chocolate amaretto mousse and mimosa

Chocolate amaretto mousse and mimosa

After lunch we decided to check out the Winter Park Scenic Boat Tour that our area is known for (but we had never been on). It was a picture-perfect day – sunny but not too hot. The tour lasts for an hour and travels between three of the lakes on the Winter Park Chain of Lakes – Lake Osceola, Lake Virginia, and Lake Maitland. I’ll have to go back and bring my good camera, Little Red. This trip all I had was the camera on my phone.

Beautiful day to be on a boat

Beautiful day to be on a boat

Cypress tree with ornaments

Christmas Florida style – cypress tree with ornaments

Rollins College is having a boat race tomorrow and part of our journey was along the race course. It’s not every day you see a cypress tree with ornaments on it.

I was seriously tempted to hop off here and chill a while.

I was seriously tempted to hop off here and chill a while.

We’ve lived here for quite some time but as it turns out there’s a lot about my town that I didn’t know. I knew that Winter Park used to be a seasonal town, a getaway for wealthy snowbirds from up north, such as the Hanes underwear family, Sinclair oil (their house is up for sale), the Krafts (these Krafts were bankers, not the cheese people). We went by Kraft Azalea Garden, a walk I take with the pups (I could have sworn I had pictures, but apparently not), only viewed from the water this time (and a popular wedding spot). I knew that Fred Rogers (Mr. Rogers from the neighborhood) went to Rollins and once lived in Winter Park, but I didn’t realize that I pass his house several times a week. I knew one of my favorite architects, James Gamble Rogers II practiced here, but I didn’t realize he built so many of the houses along our tour. I could happily live in any one of them. We also passed a house Tom Hanks lived in while filming From the Earth to the Moon.

The canals were built in the 1880s

The canals were built in the 1880s

We weren't the only ones out boating

We weren’t the only ones out boating

All in all, a glorious way to spend the day!

For a view from inside the boathouse, go here.

Update: Yuki has decided to snuggle with the bear rather than try to destroy him.

Snuggle Buddies

Snuggle Buddies

