Pup Walks – Lake Davis Park

The pups and I are always in search of a new park to walk in. I tend to favor walks around lakes or walks that feature water of some sort (other than swamps – I’ll do those, but not without a boardwalk).

Golden Hour Walk

Golden Hour Walk

Yesterday was a glorious day and the pups were still sulking over me using our normal hiking day as a Girl’s Day Out day instead. I was on for 0800 and 0930 Masses today, and we have our Theatre Potluck tonight so this afternoon is all about baking the cake and spending time with Hubby, who worked yesterday. (He also cooked breakfast for us this morning, God bless him. I knew I had a keeper.)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My original plan for yesterday was to catch up on housework (I fell behind last week with my 3-day migraine from hell), catch up on blog posts, do laundry, clean the birdcage, sweep the patio, clean my big glass patio table (my favorite writing spot), draw (doodles, but I’m counting them as a step up from the nothing I’ve done in art realm lately). As it turns out it’s been windy as heck so I could have skipped the patio sweep entirely. Today a fresh load of leaves makes it hard to tell there’s even a patio out there. For some reason fall doesn’t happen here in the fall. It happens at the end of winter. October? Nothing. March? Eight hundred thousand million leaves – all on my patio. The wind is worse today than yesterday so I’m not even trying except to instruct the wind to blow the leaves AWAY from the patio instead of ONTO it. Mother Nature met me halfway – the east side of the patio is clear. The side near the sliding glass door is covered. I can overlook that.

Geese

Geese

The dogs, of course, let me know from the moment I opened my eyes yesterday morning that I owed them a walk. I tried to appease them with the promise of a very long beach walk today. The big dogs were good with that (big dogs at our house are the Miniature Pinscher and the Pomeranian). Our former big dog people selves (we used to consider anything smaller than a Collie a pseudo-dog) would snicker at us calling our guys “big dogs”. My husband grew up with German Shepherds and Labrador Retrievers. My dog of choice growing up was always a Collie. When the children came along we were gifted with a Golden Retriever who our children still refer to as The Best Dog Ever – and we miss him still. These days our dogs are truly tiny (see yesterday’s picture of the Princess with a normal-sized teddy bear bigger than she is – and our Chihuahua is smaller than that),

The Princess and what was briefly my teddy bear

The Princess and what was briefly my teddy bear

so our medium-sized dogs are by default, the big dogs. Our little dogs love the beach view, hate the sand and hate the water, so the beach hike plan didn’t fly with them. Then I factored in cake baking time for the wing-ding tonight, doing-hair time, and the few things I still need to do from yesterday’s list (I chose to ditch the mostly-done list and grab the last hour of decent sun time in our backyard hammock sun pattern and a good book that’s due back at the library soon). The pups enjoyed that (most of them are sun dogs, except the pom, who watches from his shady spot). We have a 4-dog and 2-cat hammock. All the cats would fit, but they don’t share.

The Philosopher of Lake Davis

The Philosopher of Lake Davis

So I consulted the City of Orlando park list to see if there was anything that fit our rapidly coming sunset deadline. I wanted something new. The pups just wanted out. And so we found Lake Davis Park, which fit my criteria of having a lake to walk around, an easy drive (just a few minutes from downtown), and we should be able to get there, around, and back before dark.

Popular spot for running and walking

Popular spot for running and walking

It’s a lot like Park Lake in that it’s in a neighborhood (though heads up if you go – there’s a lot of construction). It turned out to be surprisingly busy. Lots of families feeding the sizeable bird population (several varieties of ducks, mostly mallards and wood ducks, lots of moorhens, a pair of geese, a pair of swans and other birds I heard but didn’t see).

Egret

Egret

There were several parties going on at neighboring houses, lots of other people walking their dogs, children, and babies, the aforementioned construction (not going on at the time, but some kind of noisy generator). Apparently it’s also in the airport flight path and since it’s not far from Orlando Regional Medical Center, their helicopter flew over (but didn’t stop). You can also hear more city traffic than I’m used to there. But it’s a pretty lake, a nice walk, and I’m very glad we went. So are the pups.

Sunset Swan and Mallards

Sunset Swan and Mallards

