Coffee in My Garden – We’re Back!

Different year, same spot

Different year, same spot

I didn’t realize just how long it had been since Tinkerbell (our Chihuahua), Bean (our daughter’s parrot who lives with us – not the daughter, just the parrot) and I had been in our west garden.

Bean up close

Bean up close

I didn’t realize how long it’s been since I posted a Coffee in My Garden post – or had coffee in this garden – this beautiful, wild, neglected and horrendously untended garden (last year’s self is annoyed with me).

Tigger on guard

Tigger on watch

The part of me that loves nature, quiet, and peace tried to remind me. “Your table is dusty and the cat has taken over your chair. Shouldn’t you slow down and have some coffee?” The other part was too busy to do more than say “Yeah, you’re probably right,” as she raced off to work, to run errands, to explore new trails.

We thought you were dead!

We thought you were dead!

This was formerly my Friday morning post. In the days after my hours at work were shortened (which seemed a tragedy at the time but I have been grateful for ever since) this was my refuge, my thinking place, my blogging office, my morning prayer space in the days when this was my first stop prior to taking my mother-in-law to dialysis. Shortly after sunrise, perhaps before, here I would be, writing away.

In the months after Fran passed (a year ago last January) I was still here, along with the pups, cats, bird, and flowers.

Amaryllis in bloom

Amaryllis in bloom

The Oriental lilies I thought I killed last year are greening up in the front bed (hurrah!). The Easter lilies are back, but nowhere near ready to bloom, so the white and red amaryllis are standing in. The poinsettia in the front bed is still hanging in. Our flowers are on Florida time.

We believe in Christmas all year long!

We believe in Christmas all year long!

Then I began to come to life again, do theatre again, travel a bit (not far, just to places outside our former range of being available at a moment’s notice just in case). Daughter has the same day off and at least a couple of times a month Fridays became (and still are) our day to reconnect, to explore new venues, to have lunch, to just hang out and be. Then I committed to a Friday morning program of improving my public speaking skills, and there went garden time. Good causes, worthy causes, but no more free Friday mornings.

The Princess in her spot

The Princess in her spot

The church next door either started a day care program or ramped it up (not sure which), so I became less inclined to sit at this table as the chaos around me increased a hundredfold. I used to have the ability to concentrate despite screaming children but apparently that ability fades as one’s own children grow. I was spending more time yelling back answers to questions the children yelled across the driveway “What are you doing? What are you writing? Can you take my picture? Can you bring your dogs over to play?” and less time writing. So we (the dogs, bird, cats, and I) moved to the back garden, the big table (just in time for me to resurrect my Civil War trilogy and the mountains of research that entails), an online college course (which turned into three – further impeding my blogging time, but hopefully giving me more knowledge), the quiet yard with the hammock (an altogether different distraction). It’s much quieter back there, and I do get a lot more done, but I miss a lot, too.

Like a parade of ibis through our front yard.

Today's surprise guests

Today’s surprise guests

I don’t know if the children miss us, but the squirrels definitely did. They are around in the back yard, too, but this is their hangout, their place to be known, chatted with, and recognized and they like company while they eat.

The weather is iffy and getting iffier

Come on, sunshine!

Come on, sunshine!

(I’m pulling for the sun, though I would probably be better off if it rained as I would be more likely to clean the garage – one corner looks fabulous!)

Tinkerbell's favorite sunning spot

Tinkerbell’s favorite sunning spot

The sun is winning for the moment – hurrah!

Petey, Bean, and Li'l Bit

Petey, Bean, and Li’l Bit

It’s good to be back.

About our food dish...

About our food dish…

