Happy Mother’s Day!

Happy Mother’s Day to all mothers. Enjoy!

I was blessed to have a mother who would have moved heaven and earth for me (and frequently did) and a mother-in-law who loved me like her own.

I just realized while looking through photo albums that the Girls’ Days Out that my daughter and I share are something my mom and I did on a regular basis, and later with Fran (my mother-in-law).

I never had the chance to meet my husband’s sister, as she was killed in a car accident long before he and I met, but Fran missed her dearly, as I missed my mom. I like to think we helped each other heal.

I couldn’t find my favorite picture of Mom, on a sailboat, but I did find this one of her with my brother shortly after WWII.

My mom loved the beach as much as I do

My mom loved the beach as much as I do

And I love this one, taken when my brother came home from Viet Nam. He brought her this sari.

Mom was always the height of fashion

Mom was always the height of fashion

I’ve used this picture of Fran before, but it’s one of my favorites, taken of her on her wedding day several years ago to a retired Army Lt. Colonel, former Ranger and Jumpmaster (he was a hoot). They weren’t together very long, both passed away several years later, but they enjoyed their life together to the fullest and had a blast.

My mother-in-law, my "other mother"

My mother-in-law, my “other mother”

I picture Mom and Fran in heaven, catching up together.

Love you, Mom and Fran. Miss you both. Always will. But thank you for being there, for teaching me what’s important in life (faith, family, love, having fun, making the most of what you have, taking care of others, loving nature, and going to the beach as often as possible).

