It’s Independence Day, Y’all!

One of my favorite things to do on 4th of July mornings is go to our little town of Winter Park, Florida’s 4th of July celebration. The city provides free necklaces, water, hot dogs, and watermelon and Dr. Sinclair and the Bach Festival Orchestra and Choir provide the patriotic music. I love to ride in the horse-drawn wagon, look at the antique cars along Park Avenue.

One of my favorite traditions

One of my favorite traditions

I always tweet to Lee Greenwood when I hear God Bless the USA played. I did it again today. He always responds. For a look at when Lee came to see us in Japan go here.

Bach Festival Orchestra and Choir

Bach Festival Orchestra and Choir

I am camera-less this year. For a look at pictures Little Red and I took last year go here.

An unexpected (to me) surprise was the orchestra playing the official songs of all of the U.S. branches of service. They asked anyone who had served in that service to stand when they played that song. The Army was by far the most represented. There was a Marine a few feet in front of me, a couple of us from the Air Force, a few Navy. Those of us who were seated near each other exchanged handshakes and “where were you stationed?” (Viet Nam, Germany, Colorado) and made a date to meet again this time next year when they play “our” songs.

Freedom isn’t free, y’all. Cherish it.

I do.

