Gift From the Sea, Anne Morrow Lindbergh, and Me

This is the last weekend of our show, The Dixie Swim Club (if you’re in or near Orlando, Florida, come see us – Outside the Box Theatre in beautiful Montverde, Florida – in a beautiful little theatre right next to the post office – 8 pm Friday and Saturday nights and 2 pm Sunday). This is my only day off this week (sort of since we have a show tonight), and not only did I need some rest, I also needed to catch up on some things around the house. In addition to the show, I also entered my first humorous speech contest. I didn’t win, but I got a great audience reaction and many people came up to me afterward to tell me how much they enjoyed my speech, so it was time well spent.

Spent a relaxing morning in my garden

Spent a relaxing morning in my garden

Saturday in summer is usually Beach Day for the pups and me. I love the beach. I love theatre. Occasionally (like today) the two loves clash. I don’t love housework, but I do love a clean house.

I spent the morning relaxing and reading in my garden with the parrot, the pups, and the cats. There is a new little bird family coming to the feeder. They are too shy to photograph. I’m not entirely sure what they are. They are the size of a cardinal, but they are brown. Enjoyed watching the mother bird and two well-behaved fledglings at the feeder, also the giant swallowtail butterfly visiting the plumbago bush.

Since I couldn't make it to the beach today, this was the next best thing

Since I couldn’t make it to the beach today, this was the next best thing

When life gets busy, I do what I call 15-minute days – I spend the morning relaxing and recharging and the afternoon tackling chores and doing things I’ve missed doing (like reading and hammock time) in 15-minute increments. It ensures that my weekends aren’t a total waste (which means I don’t waste what little free time I have doing chores all weekend) and I don’t feel guilty for enjoying my reading time because by the time I leave for the show, I’ve also cleaned the kitchen, done the laundry, and cleaned the bathroom (and on a good day, swept and mopped as well). I alternate 15-minutes of cleaning with 15 minutes of fun. The most important things get done, I get recharged, and my world comes into balance once again.

Tinkerbell enjoys hammock time as much as I do

Tinkerbell enjoys hammock time as much as I do

The hammock has been completely abandoned for over a month now. I haven’t been reading for fun as I’ve been writing speeches and learning lines for the show. So I grabbed a book from my “Read Me” shelf and headed for the hammock. It’s too hot for the pups in the afternoon, except for Tinkerbell who likes hot weather, so she toddled along with me while I grabbed a book, a drink, and plopped myself on the hammock for the first time in forever.

We enjoyed a blissful few minutes on the hammock. Tinkerbell dozed while I read.

Tinkerbell dozed while I read

Tinkerbell dozed while I read

I felt as though I had been to the beach, even if it was only in my mind.

We got up to go back inside, and this was on the ground by the hammock.

My gift from the sea

My gift from the sea

And then I realized, that was a frayed version of the shell in the chapter I was reading.

WP CW

A gift from the sea indeed.

For more on this challenge, go here.

