Endurance

This week’s photo challenge is Endurance. When I think of endurance, I think of family.

My side of the family here in the United States of America began with my great-grandfather, Don Vicente Ros, who sailed from Barcelona, Spain, to the Gulf Coast, where he met my great-grandmother, Annie Pol.

My great-grandfather Don Vicente who left Barcelona, Spain and started our American branch of the family

My great-grandfather Don Vicente who left Barcelona, Spain and started our American branch of the family

with the help of my great-grandmother (who was already here)

with the help of my great-grandmother (who was already here)

Great Grandpa's happy new year card 1909

Great Grandpa’s happy new year card 1909

Don Vicente came to a new world on an adventure (and I’m grateful that he did). A century later, our family covers the United States from Florida to Alaska (some of us obviously inherited Don Vicente’s desire to see the world) and beyond – one is in South Korea.

“The men who learn endurance are they who call the whole world, brother.”
Charles Dickens

For more on this challenge, go here.

