Life is Short, Play with Your Dog

Good Advice

Good Advice

This sign is on the back of my car. It’s a reminder to me on weeks like this when there is way too much to fit in, yet somehow it must be done (singing at church, a 6-day work week, Hell Week for the show, a speech, a book proposal due next month) – that life is short and it goes by at a frightening rate.

On Thursday night I had a mini-meltdown, thinking “there is no way I can fit this all in” – but I had committed to each of these projects so I had to find a way. I asked for all the heavenly and earthly help I could get, then went to work, to rehearsal, wrote and gave my speech (and won a trophy! Yay! – without using notes – double yay!). I made a dent on the housework (to be further dented between church and work, since I’m writing now).

Best Speaker!

Best Speaker!

The pups have let it be known that between my schedule and the weather, they are not getting enough outside romp time. Yesterday was my only day off. We usually hit the beach in the morning before it gets too hot but it was rainy so I worked on the house instead. Then the sun peeked out and the pups all looked at me as if to say “Well?”

We love the beach!

Gizmo, Li’l Bit, and Tinkerbell – We love the beach!

So off we went! I ran lines all the way to the beach (about an hour’s drive from home) so I got some good rehearsal time in. We stopped to get lunch and took it to our favorite picnic spot on Lighthouse Point. It was overcast, which is okay since temperatures yesterday were still in the high 80’s. I decided that even if it rained it was worth it to get out of the city, feel the seabreeze, smell the salt air, look at the ocean, and just relax for a change.

Princess Miyuki Claimed the Beach Towel

Princess Miyuki Claimed the Beach Towel

The weather and tourist gods smiled on us – intermittent sun, no lightning, no rain, no crowds! Yippee!

We found a perfect parking spot and a perfect swimming spot.

Let's Go Swimming!!!!!

Let’s Go Swimming!!!!!

Our dog family is divided between Swim Dogs and Sun Dogs

Our dog family is divided between Swim Dogs and Sun Dogs

Sometimes you just have to stop and smell the sea air

Sometimes you just have to stop and smell the sea air

Today it’s back into my crazy schedule (singing at Mass this morning, work after that, costume shopping with my director after that, rehearsal after that) but yesterday afternoon time stopped…and it was glorious.

For more on this challenge, go here.

