Once Upon a Time

I was a music performance major at the University of Alabama (Roll Tide!)

I was dusting my piano today and realized it’s been a very long time since I played it.

One of my 9th grade recital pieces

I pulled out my old Hanon exercises and realized they really do work. The first couple were rough, then my fingers went “Oh yeah. We remember those.” Are they up to speed? Nope, but they will be.

I should have started with earlier recital pieces than my college ones. My brain remembered. My fingers were going “Wait!” I backed it down to high school recital pieces. That was manageable.

I realized all of my favorite classical pieces are fast. It’s going to take a while.

I smiled to see my old piano teacher’s notes on my music. I could still hear her voice “Play something every day, even if it’s just one exercise and one song.”

I used to do that.

Music used to be as much a part of my life as breathing. Since entering corporate world, that seems like another life a very long time ago.

Today I sound more like one of my old students than someone who was once a performer and teacher and actually made a living at it.

Tomorrow I’ll be a little kinder to myself until I get some more of the rust off.

Maybe a little jazz…