Morning Pages in My Garden

My favorite place to do morning pages is in my garden with the flowers, birds, and squirrels.

Plumbago and bougainvillea look so good together.

What are morning pages?

Three pages of longhand stream of consciousness writing done first thing in the morning. For more on this, check out Julia Cameron’s website and her books. My favorites are The Artist’s Way, where I first learned this practice, and her newest book, Write for Life).

Breakfast with the black birds

If you’re a writer, or even if you aren’t, I recommend morning pages. For me, they’ve become non-negotiable. The first page and a half are usually an info dump, a list of things I need to do. Once that’s out of the way, there’s room for planning and for guidance. Or just random musing on whatever.

And the squirrels…

My days always run more smoothly when I do morning pages. My spirit is more calm.

White-winged doves flew in.

I feel more organized. Even if my day doesn’t flow exactly as I planned, I’m able to adapt.

Gizmo meditating

If you haven’t already, give them a try.

It could change your life.