Happy New Year, Y’all!

Our Florida winter came and went on Friday and Saturday. Today is a balmy 80 degrees and a gorgeous day for a walk in the woods, so the pups and I hit the trail.

New Year’s Walk with the Pups

My years seem to go in themes. There were many Music years (piano and flute teacher, singer with the Lowry Air Force Base Chorale, director of Air Force Chapel Choirs at Tyndall Air Force Base, Florida and Yokota Air Base, Japan), followed by Writing years (guest columnist for the Orlando Sentinel, sold a couple of other things in between working full time and raising a family), followed by a long, lovely string of Theatre years (see My Acting Life posts). 

Gizmo says “Stop taking pictures and come on!”

This year is shaping up to be a combo Writing and Music year (once I blow the dust off my piano and see if my flute and violin still work).
I was re-reading No Plot? No Problem! by Chris Baty the other day (I highly recommend this book) and bemoaning the fact that NaNoWriMo  (National Novel Writing Month) fell at a bad time for me last year.  Instead of whining about it, I decided to make January my novel-writing month instead. I’m calling it JanoWriMo. I got a lovely little bit of encouragement from Chris on Twitter, so if I thought of backing out (which I haven’t), I can’t now. (Darn you, Chris – and thank you at the same time).

If you haven’t read this book, you should.

If any of you missed Nano and want to make January your “I’m getting this novel written or else” month,  come on! Who knows? This just may be our year!

Where will this year take us?

Happy New Year, Everyone. May this year bring wonderful things to each of you.
For more on this challenge, go here